

то:	Pennsylvania Parole Board Members
FROM:	Farrah Conjar Executive Secretary II
DATE:	July 10, 2023
RE:	Board Meeting Minutes

June 21, 2023

In compliance with *Act 175*, known as the *Sunshine Law*, effective September 17, 1976, the Pennsylvania Parole Board provided notification to the public of the scheduled meeting on November 14, 2022.

The public meeting convened at 9:00 AM at Riverfront Office Center in Harrisburg, PA with Chairperson Theodore Johnson presiding. A quorum of Board Members was present.

# Attendance

- 🛛 Chairperson Ted Johnson
- 🛛 BD Member Marcus Brown
- 🛛 BD Member Khadija Diggs
- ☑ BD Member Leo Dunn☑ BD Member Jim Fox
- 🖂 BD Member Jack Daneri
- BD Member Tony Moscato
- $\boxtimes$  BD Member Linda Rosenberg
- BD Member Elizabeth Bolton Penna

- oxtimes Alan Robinson, Chief Counsel
- Neil Malady, Policy/Legislative Affairs
- $\boxtimes$  Michael Potteiger, Chief Hearing Examiner
- Meghan Dade, SOAB Executive Director
- 🛛 Jason Lambrino, Assistant Counsel
- $\boxtimes$  Cindy Watson, Legal Office Administrator
- 🛛 Molly Sanders, Legal Intern

- $\boxtimes\,$  Deb Carpenter, Board Secretary
- $\boxtimes$  Scott Woolf, Director RAO
- oxtimes Janaki Theivakumaran, Special Assistant
- Suzanne Estrella, Victim Advocate
- Morgan Davis, Assistant Counsel
- $\boxtimes$  Abby Geiger, Legal Office Administrator
- oxtimes Tatiana Roberts, VAC Supervisor

Chairperson Johnson recognized public guests:

Mark Bergstrom, Executive Director, Pennsylvania Sentencing Commission

# APPROVAL OF MAY BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Board Member Fox motioned to approve the May 17, 2023 Parole Board minutes. Board Member Brown seconded the motion. The Parole Board unanimously approved the minutes.

## **OFFICE AND STAFF REPORTS**

### Office of Victim Advocate (OVA)

Victim Assistance Coordinator Supervisor, Tatiana Roberts

• Nothing to report.

### Sexual Offenders Assessment Board (SOAB)

Executive Director, Meghan Dade

- There have been staffing changes at the SOAB:
  - Barry Nelson, Investigator Supervisor for the Harrisburg region, retired. Clarissa McNitt was named Investigator Supervisor for the Harrisburg region.
  - Randee Brant, Investigator, was promoted to Chief of Staff for the Department of Corrections.
  - George Miller and Devin Bolton were hired as new Investigators for the Harrisburg Region.

### **Communications/Media Report**

Special Assistant, Janaki Theivakumaran

• We were approached by a New York production company who was interested in doing a documentary series about the Parole Board. Awaiting additional information.

#### **Policy and Legislative Affairs Report**

Policy and Legislative Affairs Director, Neil Malady

• Budget should be completed by next week.

# **Office of Chief Counsel Report**

Chief Counsel, Alan Robinson

- We are speaking to the Hearing Examiners later today on improving hearing reports to ensure consistent Board Actions.
- Abby Geiger started in May 2023 as the Legal Officer Administrator.
- Molly Sanders is the Legal Office Extern this summer.
- Cindy Watson, Legal Office Administrator, is retiring on June 30, 2023.

### **Office of Hearing Examiners Report**

Chief Hearing Examiner, Michael Potteiger

- Gina Davis was hired as the Hearing Coordinator in May 2023.
- Interviewing next week for the vacant Hearing Examiner position.
- Specialized Hearing Examiner Position will be posted in the near future.
- Please submit EPR recommendations for the Hearing Examiners by mid-July.

### **Records and Administration Office Report**

Records and Administration Office Director, Scott Woolf

- There will be a group discussion later this afternoon with the Hearing Examiners on recommendations for the new PDI system
- We have close to 500 cases in the new system.
- The feedback has been very helpful and the continuing feedback on the enhancements will make the system even more efficient.

## **Board Secretary Report**

Board Secretary, Deb Carpenter

- Presented at the PBI Criminal Law Symposium at the Hilton in Harrisburg with DOC on Short Sentence Parole and provided a brief overview of the new guidelines.
- SCI Albion recently opened a Neuro Cognitive Care unit. I am going to accompany EDS Kelly Evans on a tour of the facility. A committee is going to be established for that unit and would like board representation. Additional information will be provided after the visit.

### **Board Member Announcement**

- Chairman Ted Johnson thanked the members of Senior Staff for their support during his tenure.
- Jim Fox was named Chairman effective June 24, 2023.

### ADJOURNMENT

At 10:15 a.m. Board Member Fox made a motion to adjourn the public session. The motion was seconded by Board Member Bolton Penna. The Board Members voted unanimously to adjourn the public session.